Skip to main content

Stan Ahalt

Stan Ahalt

Professor

Director, Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)

ahalt@cs.unc.edu | 919-445-9641
Research Area: Bioinformatics & Computational Biology, Computer Vision, High-Performance Computing, Machine Learning & Data Science, Software
Jay Aikat

Jay Aikat

Research Professor

Chief Operating Officer, Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)

aikat@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6178
Research Area: Machine Learning & Data Science, Networking, Security
Ron Alterovitz

Ron Alterovitz

Professor

Director of Graduate Admissions

ron@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6068
Research Area: Autonomous & Cyber-Physical Systems, Computer Graphics, Medical Image Analysis, Robotics
James Anderson

James Anderson

Kenan Distinguished Professor

anderson@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6057
Research Area: Autonomous & Cyber-Physical Systems, Operating Systems, Real-Time Systems, Theory

Jaime Arguello

Adjunct Associate Professor

McColl Term Associate Professor, UNC School of Information and Library Science

jarguell@email.unc.edu

Stephen Aylward

Adjunct Associate Professor

Senior Director of Strategic Initiatives, Kitware

stephen.aylward@kitware.com
Mohit Bansal

Mohit Bansal

John R. and Louise S. Parker Associate Professor

mbansal@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6042
Research Area: Computer Vision, Machine Learning & Data Science, Natural Language Processing, Robotics

Alexander C. Berg

Research Associate Professor

aberg@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6022
Research Area: Computer Vision, Machine Learning & Data Science, Natural Language Processing

Tamara L. Berg

Adjunct Associate Professor

Research Scientist Manager, Facebook AI

tlberg@cs.unc.edu
Gedas Bertasius

Gedas Bertasius

Assistant Professor

gedas@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6058
Research Area: Computer Vision, Machine Learning & Data Science
Samarjit Chakraborty

Samarjit Chakraborty

William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor

samarjit@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6038
Research Area: Autonomous & Cyber-Physical Systems

Praneeth Chakravarthula

Research Assistant Professor

cpk@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6105
Research Area: Computer Graphics, Human-Computer Interaction

Snigdha Chaturvedi

Assistant Professor

snigdha@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6068
Research Area: Machine Learning & Data Science, Natural Language Processing

Prasun Dewan

Professor

dewan@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6123
Research Area: Computer-Supported Collaborative Work, Human-Computer Interaction, Networking, Software

Parasara Sridhar Duggirala

Assistant Professor

psd@cs.unc.edu | 919-445-6116
Research Area: Autonomous & Cyber-Physical Systems, Theory
Saba Eskandarian

Saba Eskandarian

Assistant Professor

saba@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6001
Research Area: Security
Michael J. Fern

Michael J. Fern

Professor of the Practice

Associate Chair for Finance & Administration

fern@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6077
Jan-Michael Frahm

Jan-Michael Frahm

Research Professor

jmf@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6003
Research Area: Computer Vision
Henry Fuchs

Henry Fuchs

Federico Gil Distinguished Professor

fuchs@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6211
Research Area: Computer Graphics, Computer Vision, Computer-Supported Collaborative Work, Human-Computer Interaction
David Gotz

David Gotz

Adjunct Associate Professor

Associate Professor, School of Information and Library Science

gotz@unc.edu
Kevin Jeffay

Kevin Jeffay

Gillian Cell Distinguished Professor

Department Chair

jeffay@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6238
Research Area: Networking, Operating Systems, Real-Time Systems

Kris Jordan

Teaching Associate Professor

kris@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6041
Research Area: Pedagogy
Tessa Joseph-Nicholas

Tessa Joseph-Nicholas

Teaching Professor

nicholas@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6230
Research Area: Pedagogy

Jasleen Kaur

Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

jasleen@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6066
Research Area: Networking

Ashok Krishnamurthy

Research Professor

Deputy Director, Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)

ashok@renci.org | 919-590-6019

David Luebke

Research Professor

Vice President of Research, NVIDIA

dluebke@nvidia.com | 919-590-6003
Research Area: Computer Graphics

John Majikes

Teaching Assistant Professor

jmajikes@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6093

Dinesh Manocha

Research Professor

dm@cs.unc.edu
Research Area: Computer Graphics
Steve Marron

Steve Marron

Adjunct Professor

Amos Hawley Distinguished Professor, Statistics and Operational Research

marron@email.unc.edu
Ketan Mayer-Patel

Ketan Mayer-Patel

Associate Professor

Director of Undergraduate Studies

kmp@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6009
Research Area: Computer-Supported Collaborative Work, Networking

Leonard McMillan

Associate Professor

mcmillan@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6078
Research Area: Bioinformatics & Computational Biology, Machine Learning & Data Science

Fabian Monrose

Kenan Distinguished Professor

fabian@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6063
Research Area: Networking, Security

Brent Munsell

Teaching Assistant Professor

Adjunct Research Assistant Professor, Psychiatry

munsell@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6103
Research Area: Bioinformatics & Computational Biology, Machine Learning & Data Science, Medical Image Analysis, Pedagogy
Marc Niethammer

Marc Niethammer

Professor

Associate Chair for Academic Affairs

mn@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6149
Research Area: Machine Learning & Data Science, Medical Image Analysis
Shahriar Nirjon

Shahriar Nirjon

Assistant Professor

nirjon@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6039
Research Area: Autonomous & Cyber-Physical Systems, Human-Computer Interaction, Machine Learning & Data Science, Networking, Real-Time Systems
Junier Oliva

Junier Oliva

Assistant Professor

joliva@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6158
Research Area: Machine Learning & Data Science

Beatriz Paniagua

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Assistant Director of Medical Computing, Kitware

beatriz_paniagu@med.unc.edu

Stephen M. Pizer

Kenan Distinguished Professor

pizer (at) cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6085
Research Area: Medical Image Analysis

David A. Plaisted

Professor

plaisted@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6051
Research Area: Theory
Don Porter

Donald Porter

Associate Professor

porter@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6044
Research Area: Computer Architecture, Human-Computer Interaction, Operating Systems, Security, Software

Diane Pozefsky

Research Professor

pozefsky@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6117
Research Area: Computer-Supported Collaborative Work, Human-Computer Interaction, Networking, Software

Jan F. Prins

Professor

prins@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6213
Research Area: Bioinformatics & Computational Biology, High-Performance Computing, Machine Learning & Data Science

Colin Raffel

Assistant Professor

craffel@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6002
Research Area: Machine Learning & Data Science
Mike Reed

Mike Reed

Professor of the Practice

Engineering Director, Google Chapel Hill

mreed@cs.unc.edu
Research Area: Computer Graphics

Michael K. Reiter

Research Professor

reiter@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6136
Research Area: Networking, Security
Julian Rosenman

Julian Rosenman

Adjunct Professor

Professor, Radiation Oncology

rosenman@cs.unc.edu | 919-445-5438

Dinggang Shen

Adjunct Professor

Professor and Dean, School of BME, ShanghaiTech University

dinggang.shen@gmail.com

Jorge Silva

Teaching Assistant Professor

jsilva@cs.unc.edu
Research Area: Machine Learning & Data Science, Pedagogy

Montek Singh

Associate Professor

montek@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6132
Research Area: Computer Architecture, Computer Graphics
Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith

Teaching Assistant Professor

onsmith@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6147
Research Area: Pedagogy, Software

F. Don Smith

Research Professor

smithfd@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6184
Research Area: Autonomous & Cyber-Physical Systems, Networking, Operating Systems
Jack Snoeyink

Jack Snoeyink

Professor

snoeyink@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6069
Research Area: Bioinformatics & Computational Biology, Computer Graphics, Geometric Computing, Robotics, Theory
Shashank Srivastava

Shashank Srivastava

Assistant Professor

ssrivastava@cs.unc.edu
Research Area: Human-Computer Interaction, Machine Learning & Data Science, Natural Language Processing

Natalie Stanley

Assistant Professor

natalies@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6018
Research Area: Bioinformatics & Computational Biology

David Stotts

Professor

stotts@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6133
Research Area: Computer-Supported Collaborative Work, Human-Computer Interaction, Software
Cynthia Sturton

Cynthia Sturton

Associate Professor and Peter Thacher Grauer Scholar

csturton@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6020
Research Area: Computer Architecture, Security

Martin Styner

Research Associate Professor

Associate Professor, Psychiatry

styner@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6209
Research Area: Medical Image Analysis
Dan Szafir

Daniel Szafir

Assistant Professor

dszafir@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6049
Research Area: Computer Graphics, Human-Computer Interaction, Robotics
Danielle Szafir

Danielle Szafir

Assistant Professor

danielle.szafir@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6074
Research Area: Computer Graphics, Machine Learning & Data Science

Russell M. Taylor II

Adjunct Research Professor

taylorr@cs.unc.edu
Jeff Terrell

Jeff Terrell

Professor of the Practice

Director, UNC App Lab

terrell@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6103
Research Area: Software

Quoc Tran-Dinh

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Assistant Professor, Department of Statistics and Operational Reasoning

quoctd@email.unc.edu

Alexander Tropsha

Adjunct Professor

K.H. Lee Distinguished Professor and Chair, Medicinal Chemistry and Natural Products, School of Pharmacy

alex_tropsha@unc.edu

Gregory F. Welch

Adjunct Professor

Florida Hospital Endowed Chair in Healthcare Simulation, University of Central Florida

welch@cs.unc.edu

Turner Whitted

Adjunct Professor

jtw@twilab.com
Research Area: Computer Graphics

Mary C. Whitton

Research Professor

whitton@cs.unc.edu | 919-590-6150
Research Area: Computer Graphics, Computer-Supported Collaborative Work, Human-Computer Interaction

Guorong Wu

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry

guorong_wu@med.unc.edu

Pew-Thian Yap

Adjunct Associate Professor

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

ptyap@med.unc.edu

Hongtu Zhu

Adjunct Professor

Professor, Department of Biostatistics

htzhu@email.unc.edu