Skip to main content
Samarjit Chakraborty
April 21, 2022

William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor Samarjit Chakraborty was elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for 2022. Chakraborty was recognized for contributions to system-level timing analysis of cyber-physical systems.

Elevation to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed by the Institute in recognition of technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Samarjit is one of 311 members of the Class of 2022.

Chakraborty’s research is in distributed embedded systems, hardware/software co-design, embedded control systems, low-power systems, energy storage systems, electromobility, and sensor network-based information processing. His work has applications in automotive design, healthcare, low-energy communication, and more.

Samarjit Chakraborty is a William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor in the UNC Department of Computer Science. From 2008 to 2019, he was a professor of electrical engineering at TU Munich in Germany, where he held the Chair for Real-Time Computer Systems. From 2011 to 2016, he led a research program on embedded systems for electric vehicles at the TUM CREATE Center for Electromobility in Singapore, where he also served as a scientific advisor. He was an assistant professor of computer science at the National University of Singapore from 2003 to 2008. He obtained a doctorate in electrical engineering from ETH Zurich in 2003.

He was the general chair of Embedded Systems Week (ESWeek) 2011, and the program chair of the International Conference on Embedded Software (EMSOFT) 2009 and the International Symposium on Industrial Embedded Systems (SIES) 2012, and regularly serves on the committees of various conferences on real-time and embedded systems. He served on the executive committee of the Design Automation Conference, where he co-founded a new track on automotive systems and software. He serves on the editorial boards of IEEE Transactions on Computers, ACM Transactions on Cyber-Physical Systems, Leibnitz Transactions on Embedded Systems, Design Automation of Embedded Systems, and Springer’s Lecture Notes on Electrical Engineering.

For his doctoral thesis, he received the ETH Medal and the European Design and Automation Association’s Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award in 2004. In addition, he has received Best Paper and Demo Awards from several of the top conferences in real-time and embedded systems. In addition to funding from several governmental agencies, his work has also been supported by grants from General Motors, Intel, Google, BMW, Audi, Siemens and Bosch.

See the complete list of 2022 IEEE fellows.