Skip to main content
May 17, 2016

Department photos from both ceremonies can be found here.Professional photos were taken of each student at Commencement by Photo Specialties. Contact Nicole Terhune to purchase photos.

For a list of graduates, view the Commencement and Hooding Ceremony programs online.

The Department of Computer Science recognized 228 graduates in its annual Commencement ceremony on May 8 in Carmichael Arena.

Lecturer Kris Jordan is congratulated on his teaching award by seniors Sarah Rust, Duri Long, and Ryan Oberfelder.

The class of graduates recognized at this year’s ceremony included 107 Bachelor of Science recipients, 41 Bachelor of Arts recipients, 25 undergraduate minors, 40 Master of Science recipients and 15 Doctor of Philosophy recipients.

The event began with a welcome from Department Chair Kevin Jeffay and the presentation of teaching awards. Professors James Anderson and Marc Niethammer were awarded 2016 Computer Science Student Association Teaching Awards for their efforts in teaching graduate courses. Representatives of the undergraduate Computer Science Club presented the 2016 Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award to Lecturer Kris Jordan. Master’s student James Martin received the John Glotzer Teaching Assistant Award, and the first ever Learning Assistant Award was given to senior Nathan Weatherly.

Senior Class Speaker Zach Dvorak addresses his fellow graduates.

Senior Zach Dvorak, selected as the undergraduate class speaker by a vote of the graduating seniors, delivered an address reminding his fellow graduates to thank their parents, mentors, faculty, and friends and insisting that changing the world will begin with a simple effort to change your own world. Following Dvorak’s address, each graduate in attendance was called by name and awarded a certificate by Jeffay.

Doctoral graduate Qi Mo is hooded by Director of Graduate Studies Jan Prins and her advisor Dinesh Manocha.

Prior to the Commencement ceremony in Carmichael Arena, the department held a more intimate hooding ceremony, where each doctoral graduate was introduced and recognized by his or her faculty advisor and formally hooded by the advisor and the Director of Undergraduate Studies. The hooding ceremony was held in Sitterson Hall.