Skip to main content
Dr. Steve Weiss presents the 2012-2013 Weiss Award to senior Zach Cross at the Undergraduate Open House in August 2012.

Back to Department Awards

Established in 2010, the Stephen F. Weiss Award for Outstanding Achievement in Computer Science is given at the beginning of each academic year to a rising senior in the Department of Computer Science who has already demonstrated significant accomplishments.

The award honors Stephen F. Weiss, chairman of the department from 1989 to 2004 and winner of the 2007 Thomas Jefferson Award, presented annually by the Office of Faculty Governance to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson.”

The Weiss award is given to a student who demonstrates both academic excellence and contributions to the computer science community. The award provides a $500 scholarship, and the recipient’s name is added to a plaque in the lower lobby of Sitterson Hall.


2021-2022: Nihar Vaidya

2020-2021: Shai Caspin

2018-2019: Helen Qin

2017-2018: Jon Kaplan

2016-2017: Adam Aji

2015-2016: Vance Miller

2014-2015: Kevin Valakuzhy

2013-2014: Willem N. Wyndham

2012-2013: Zach Cross

2011-2012: Jacob Bartel

2010-2011: Stephanie Zolayvar

2009-2010: Max Beckman-Harned